1700 La Poste is pleased to present an exhibition dedicated to Montreal sculptor Gilles Mihalcean.
Bringing together more than thirty works created between 1991 and 2021, the exhibition is articulated around the concepts of reversal and redirection. Mihalcean devises imaginary, playful constructions that meld various artistic styles. In works assembled from found and made objects, he modifies the primary function of the elements deployed, diverting their meaning. Confounding our perceptions, his works become visual metaphors, with as many possible narratives as there are viewpoints.

“Mihalcean creates his sculptures primarily through the assemblage of heterogeneous elements, which, gathered up, form a new entity; the properties of the forms and materials used are diverted from their primary function and together produce a new object that is at once imaginary and metaphorical. The artist thereby opens his work to multiple interpretations that act through effects of surprise, unsettling the spectator.”

– Excerpt from “Gilles Mihalcean and Our States of Being,” by Isabelle de Mévius

Recognized for his contribution to the revival of sculpture in the 1980s, Mihalcean takes a poetic and narrative approach to art. With strong roots in Quebec culture, he sets out to provoke critical thought about the nature of the self and its relation to society.

A catalogue with a preface by Isabelle de Mévius features an essay by Laurier Lacroix, an interview with Gilles Mihalcean conducted by Charles Guilbert and texts by the artist.

Snow

Born in Montreal in 1946, Gilles Mihalcean has been practicing sculpture for over fifty years. Armed with great know-how, he has achieved national and international acclaim. In 1969, he completes his first artwork (Cancer, 1969), which is acquired by the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal the same year. His career as a professional artist is marked by numerous awards and grants. He is notably the laureate of the Prix Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton from the Canada Council for the Arts (1987), the Jean-Paul Riopelle career grant (2005-2007), the Paul-Émile Borduas Award (2011) and, recently, he is awarded a honoris causa doctorate from Concordia University (2019). Gilles Mihalcean is represented by the Laroche/Joncas Gallery.

Gilles Mihalcean’s sculptures were shown in several solo and collective exhibitions in Quebec, Canada, the United States, France and Italy. Notably, his work was the subject of a retrospective exhibition at the Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal in 1995. Many of his public art projects adorn the Quebec landscape, including La peur (Place D’Youville, 1993), Monument à la Pointe (Pointe-Saint-Charles, 2001), Printemps (Centre universitaire de santé McGill, 2014), Paquets de lumière (Quartier des spectacles, 2017) and recently Androïdes (Domaine Forget de Charlevoix, 2021).

Renowned for his contribution to the renewal of sculpture in the 1980s, Gilles Mihalcean favours a poetic and narrative approach to art. He creates playful imaginary constructions within which different art styles collide, a reflection of the postmodernist movement. By assembling crafted and found objects, he diverts them from their primary function to shift their meaning. Circumventing the spectator’s perceptions, his sculptures become visual metaphors that can evoke as many narratives as there are vantage points. Strongly attached to his Québécois identity, he strives to inspire philosophical reflections on the nature of Man and his bond to the social body.

+ More information

Contact

1700 la poste

1700 Notre-Dame Street W
Montreal (Qc) H3J 1M3

Metro station Lucien L’Allier
or Georges-Vanier

How to get there
T. (438) 384-1700
F. (438) 384-1600
info@1700laposte.com

The 30th anniversary of Les Impatients at 1700 La Poste

Enchanté∙e ! A look at 30 years of creation and hope

Wednesday to Sunday
11AM to 6PM


To stay informed of our events:

Isabelle de Mévius
Executive and Artistic Director

Roger Lupien
Administrative Director


Store : 

Please send an email at info@1700laposte.com to order catalog(s).

Guided tours : 

Group visits are available to everyone. In order to ensure the availability of a mediator, call (438) 384-1700 or send an email at info@1700laposte.com.

 

Please be advised that 1700 La Poste is not available for rent.

Le 1700 La Poste a le plaisir de présenter une exposition consacrée au sculpteur montréalais Gilles Mihalcean. Réunissant plus de trente œuvres réalisées entre 1991 et 2021, cette exposition est articulée autour des notions de retournement et de détournement. Le sculpteur élabore des constructions imaginaires et ludiques dans lesquelles se conjuguent différents styles artistiques. Par son travail d’assemblage d’objets fabriqués ou trouvés, il modifie leur fonction première pour en détourner le sens. Déjouant les perceptions du spectateur, ses œuvres deviennent des métaphores visuelles dont le récit narratif peut prendre autant de formes qu’il y a de regards.

« Les sculptures de Gilles Mihalcean sont principalement élaborées par assemblage d’éléments hétéroclites lesquels forment une nouvelle entité ; les propriétés des formes et des matériaux utilisées sont détournées de leur fonction première et produisent ensemble un nouvel objet imaginaire métaphorique. L’artiste ouvre ainsi son œuvre à plusieurs interprétations qui agissent par effets de surprise, déroutant le spectateur. »

– Extrait du texte Gilles Mihalcean et les états d’être de l’homme par Isabelle de Mévius

Reconnu pour sa contribution au renouveau de la sculpture dans les années 1980, Gilles Mihalcean privilégie une approche poétique et narrative de l’art. Fortement attaché à son identité québécoise, il cherche à susciter des réflexions philosophiques sur la nature de l’homme et sur son lien au corps social.

Un catalogue préfacé par Isabelle de Mévius réunit un essai de Laurier Lacroix, un entretien avec Gilles Mihalcean mené par Charles Guilbert et des écrits signés par l’artiste.

Snow

Né à Montréal en 1946, Gilles Mihalcean pratique la sculpture depuis plus d’une cinquantaine d’années. Fort d’un grand savoir-faire, il a su se forger une renommée tant nationale qu’internationale. Il réalise en 1969 sa première œuvre (Cancer, 1969) et le Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en fait l’acquisition la même année. Sa carrière d’artiste professionnel est jalonnée de nombreux prix et bourses. Il est notamment récipiendaire du Prix Victor-Martyn-Lynch-Staunton du Conseil des arts du Canada (1987), de la bourse de carrière Jean-Paul-Riopelle (2005-2007), du prix Paul-Émile Borduas (2011) et récemment, d’un doctorat honoris causa de l’Université Concordia (2019). Gilles Mihalcean est représenté par la Galerie Laroche/Joncas.

Les sculptures de Gilles Mihalcean ont été présentées dans plusieurs expositions individuelles et collectives au Québec, au Canada, aux États-Unis, en France et en Italie. Son travail a notamment fait l’objet d’une exposition rétrospective au Musée d’art contemporain de Montréal en 1995. Mihalcean a réalisé de nombreux projets d’art public et d’intégration des arts à l’architecture qui parsèment le paysage culturel montréalais et québécois, dont La peur (Place D’Youville, 1993), Monument à la Pointe (Pointe-Saint-Charles, 2001), Printemps (Centre universitaire de santé McGill, 2014, Paquets de lumière (Quartier des spectacles, 2017) et plus récemment Androïdes (Domaine Forget de Charlevoix, 2021).

Reconnu pour sa contribution au renouveau de la sculpture dans les années 1980, Gilles Mihalcean privilégie une approche poétique et narrative de l’art. Le sculpteur élabore des constructions imaginaires et ludiques dans lesquelles se conjuguent différents styles artistiques, reflet du mouvement postmoderne. Par son travail d’assemblage d’objets fabriqués ou trouvés, il modifie leur fonction première pour en détourner le sens. Déjouant les perceptions du spectateur, ses œuvres deviennent des métaphores visuelles dont le récit narratif peut prendre autant de formes qu’il y a de regard. Fortement attaché à son identité québécoise, il cherche à susciter des réflexions philosophiques sur la nature de l’homme et son lien au corps social.

+ Plus d’informations

Contact

FERMÉ EXCEPTIONNELLEMENT LE DIMANCHE 13 NOVEMBRE

Raymonde April : traversée
Du 7 octobre au 18 décembre 2022

Du mercredi au dimanche
11 h à 18 h


Pour rester à l'affût de nos événements:

Isabelle de Mévius
Directrice générale et artistique

Roger Lupien
Directeur administratif


Boutique : 

Écrivez à l’adresse courriel info@1700laposte.com pour placer une commande de catalogue(s).

Visites guidées :

Du mercredi au dimanche, des visites de groupe gratuites sont offertes à tous et à toutes. Afin de s’assurer de la disponibilité des médiatrices, planifiez votre visite à l’avance en communiquant par téléphone au (438) 384-1700 ou à l’adresse courriel info@1700laposte.com.

Merci de noter que le 1700 La Poste n’est pas disponible pour la location.